How are you being?

August 25, 2008 at 1:50 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , , , )

I’d normally ask you, how are you doing? But today I’m more curious about how are you being.

Recently I’ve been reading through the Gospels. I want more and more to follow Christ well. I figure a decent place to start is really reading, observing, and meditating on his life through the Scriptures. 

Today I read Mark chapter 9. There are a number of seemingly random scenes. However, the more I reflect the more I’m finding a common thread throughout the stories. The first story has Jesus, James, and Peter climbing a mountain. At the top of the mountain Jesus goes through transfiguration. Lots of bright lights, clouds, two dead guys Moses and Elijah appear, and then they hear the voice of God. Not your everyday nature trail up the mountain sort of hike. James and Peter are understandably just a little stunned. Peter suggests they build a memorial for the occasion. 

After they come down the mountain they come upon the rest of the disciples and a crowd. There’s a man there with his demon-possessed son. The man tells Jesus the disciples couldn’t heal his son. After teaching the man a lesson about faith Jesus heals the boy and tells his disciples that removing the demon required prayer. 

Finally Jesus and the disciples walk to the town of Capernaum. When they get there Jesus asks the disciples what they had been arguing about on the way. They sat in silence. Jesus knew they were arguing about who was considered the greatest disciple. He responds by telling them, “Anyone who wants to be first must be last, the servant of all.” 

What I’m seeing is that like the disciples I often stray off of the bullseye. Like Peter, I can experience an unbelievable moment and I try to get to work to add to that moment. It’s like I need to show off my worth or value when God just wanted me to experience the moment and rest in his presence. Or in the case of the demon-possessed boy the disciples were trying with all their power to cast out the demon and yet the power was in their relationship with God. In telling them they had to pray it’s as if Jesus was telling them to refocus their dependence. In the conversation of who is greatest, again it’s the wrong focus. To be great means to give yourself away rather than manipulate and politic your way to the top. While I strive to be great and live a life that means something I can so easily be distracted by the potential of what could be rather than capturing the humble and simple moment that is staring me right in the eye. 

All in all I feel like it has a lot to do with being rather than doing. I don’t know about you, but I can “do” things well. For me just to “be” is really hard. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t think it means we shouldn’t be about accomplishing good things in our journey of faith. I do however believe there must be a focus from which we operate.  I’m coming to see that God cares far more about my living and breathing relationship with him than he cares about the things I can accomplish.  

This is especially challenging for us as we work to build Broken Voices. 

As we are creating this film, planning tons of events, and are in front of people every week it is very easy to drift into “doing.” But hey, we are doing this for God so it must be good, right? The moment that my relationship with God isn’t the thing, then I have nothing to offer. The moment that I miss what God is doing in and around me because I’m too busy constructing things, then I have missed him. The second we get impressed with ourselves, our film, or our organization, then we’ve fired a stray shot far from the bullseye of what God is dreaming about. 

We desperately need to be. Being in a relationship, trusting, and throwing ourselves at the feet of our heavenly father is the only way we will ever accomplish anything worth while – and I’m also coming to believe it’s the best and most exciting way to live. 

So, how are you being? 

Matt & The BV Team

Leave a Reply

