Stuck at My Job

March 9, 2009 at 5:04 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , )

coffee-loverI sat down to interview our friends Tim & Kristi today. They are packing up their life, including 3 young kids, to move to Northern Iraq in May. They are moving there because they feel called to take the gospel to the Kurdish people. It’s a crazy story! We filmed them today and will be sharing more of their story soon. However I wanted to share one excerpt from our time today that we found to be so moving. Enjoy…

Matt:  “Tim, there are people who think what you and your family are doing is great, but they feel stuck in jobs and situations they don’t want to be in. What would you say to the person working at the “coffee shop”, longing for God to “use” their life?”

Tim:  Life is in Jesus. Not in a place, a thing, or a job. He has representatives and people that he loves all over the place. Without them we have a bunch of people heading overseas and nothing happening here. People in America are dying. They are dying every day. They are walking into the coffee shop dead, and they are walking out dead. People need Jesus. We are Jesus to those people. He is in us and he is in those people working in the coffee shop.”

“I think it begins when we start walking out the door in the morning thinking to ourselves that people are going to meet Jesus today. They are going to fall in love with him and they are not even going to know it.” 

“I worked at a phone company this past year and I had a manager named Matt. Matt loves me because I’ve been kind to him, because I’ve been gracious to him. He loves Jesus – he just doesn’t realize it’s Jesus. I think you can be anywhere and help people fall in love with Jesus before they even realize it.”

Have you ever felt stuck in what seemed to be a situation lacking purpose?

4 Comments

  1. keriandkim said,

  2. karen said,

    This is a great reminder. I feel stuck a lot, and get so focused on my circumstances that I forget the person next to me is lost.

  3. Becca said,

    Love it! I cannot WAIT to hear the rest of their incredible story. What you guys are doing is amazing!

  4. greg t said,

    SUCH a good reminder! Jesus is alive and well and walking around! He could be me!!!????!!!?!!!! Thx for posting this!

Leave a Reply

